Monday, 15 February 2016

Stem Cell Research Prizes – 2 x $50,000 Metcalf Prizes

The Metcalf Prizes are open to mid-career researchers, five to 10 years past their PhD or MD (research based), working in stem cell research in Australia.

Last year’s winners were Christine Wells of the University of Queensland and Ryan Lister of the University of Western Australia in recognition of their leadership in stem cell research.

Christine has created an online encyclopaedia of detailed scientific information on how our thousands of different genes shape us, which has led to the discovery of a new kind of stem cell.

Ryan has discovered how adult stem cells retain a memory of what they once were. He believes he can make them forget their past lives, so that their history doesn’t limit their new potential.

Applications close Monday 21 March 2016. We encourage last year’s unsuccessful applicants to apply again this year if they are still eligible.

The Prizes are an initiative of the National Stem Cell Foundation of Australia.

For more information head to the Foundation’s website:

If you intend to apply for a Metcalf Prize, please advise the Faculty Research Office ( as external editorial assistance on your application is available through Monash University's Prizes & Awards Strategy.

No comments:

Post a comment